Active Surveillance Task Force

The NESTcc Governing Committee approved the establishment of a small, multi-stakeholder Active Surveillance Task Force charged with leveraging NESTcc’s work to advance active surveillance and subsequently launch NESTcc’s first active surveillance projects.

Task Force membership includes key stakeholder representation from patients, clinicians, health systems, the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), payers, and the medical device industry.  The Task Force will also include members with expertise in patient privacy as related to “big data.”  This diverse composition provides perspectives essential to building NESTcc’s capacity to support a successful active surveillance program.


  • Kathleen Blake, MD, MPHAmerican Medical Association
  • Daniel Caños, PhD, MPHFDA/Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH)
  • Heather Colvin, MPPJohnson & Johnson
  • Kevin Haynes, PharmD, MSCEHealthCore, Inc.
  • Harlan Krumholz, MD, SMYale School of Medicine
  • Brad Malin, PhDVanderbilt University
  • Bray Patrick-Lake, MFSEvidation
  • Frederic Resnic, MD, MSc, Lahey Health

Affiliated Members

  • Danica Marinac-Dabic, MD, PhD, MMSc, FISPE, FDA/CDRH
  • Jose Pablo Morales, MD, FDA/CDRH

Additional information on the background of this Task Force, including the US Food and Drug Administration’s November 2018 update to the Medical Device Safety Action Plan outlining how NESTcc will be leveraged to more quickly detect emerging safety signals through active surveillance, can be found here.

IT Cloud Working Group

The IT Cloud Working Group is charged with designing and building the Active Surveillance Cloud Infrastructure platform that will be used to facilitate the collection and analysis of real-world data for medical device safety signal detection and assessment.

  • Daniel Caños, PhD, MPH, FDA/CDRH
  • Joseph Drozda, MD, Mercy Health
  • Curtis Dudley, Mercy Health
  • Alexander Hanson, NESTcc/Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Steve Jones, MS, Pandera Systems
  • Frederic Resnic, MD, MSc, Lahey Health
  • Henry Ssemaganda, MD, MPH, Lahey Health
  • Joshua Sutton, MBA, Pandera Systems
  • Mattie Whitmore, MS, NESTcc/Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Daniel Zagales, Pandera Systems
  • Robbert Zusterzeel, MD, PhD, MPH, NESTcc

Active Surveillance Methodology Working Group

The Active Surveillance Task Force approved the establishment of a small, multi-stakeholder Active Surveillance Methodology Working Group charged with determining the strengths and weaknesses of currently used safety signal detection methodology through literature review.

Members of the Active Surveillance Methodology Working Group will be selected in July 2020.

Follow us @NESTccMedTech

NESTcc is requesting public comments on the study protocol of our Test-Case focused on synthetic mid-urethral slings for stress urinary incontinence in women. The comment period is open until June 12. More: 14 hours ago

Sandra Siami, a leader in corporate management, clinical and #RWE research, and strategy and business development, has joined MDIC as SVP of NESTcc. Learn more about @FSSiami: 2 days ago

National Evaluation System for health Technology Coordinating Center (NESTcc)
1501 Wilson Blvd., Suite 910, Arlington, VA 22209

© Copyright 2020 | Privacy Policy

An Initiative of:

MDIC logo

Follow MDIC:

Twitter logo
LinkedIn Logo